Grid Sizes

Right now, we have three buttons that set the size of thumbnails in the media grid: Small; Medium; and Large. Small is pretty great, but Medium and Large seems less helpful since the thumbnails aren’t big enough to take up the space. Here’s how Large looks for me right now:

Large Grid

When I make my browser wider, there’s just too much whitespace surrounding each image at the current dimensions. I’m not sure what we can do to fix this, but maybe we can load larger images in when switching to Medium/Large.

  1. Reduce Size Options

I think we can actually lose the “Large” size altogether. If we make it easy to view a full size (with little-to-no waiting), the Large size becomes less helpful.

  1. Buttons vs. Icons

Also, right now the UI for switching grid sizes is just some very plain-and-boring rounded rectangles. We could make them proper button’s (.button-secondary), or (and I think this would be better) we could make them simple icons. Something like this:

Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 10.02.32 AM

